Featured Programme

Watch the Paisley Election Count video now!

Paisley FM was live from the General Election 2019 Count at The Lagoon Leisure Centre on Polling Day, Thursday 12 December until after 3.00am on Friday 13 December when the results for Paisley & Renfrewshire North Constituency and Paisley & Renfrewshire South Constituency were declared.

Paisley FM presenter/producer Ross Turnbull recorded a short video of the event while still presenting live from The Lagoon!

Watch the longer version here  or the quick shorter version here.

The General Election 2019 Result

Gavin Newlands has been re-elected as MP for Paisley and Renfrewshire North and Mhairi Black re-elected as the MP for Paisley and Renfrewshire South.

In Paisley and Renfrewshire North, 49,835 votes were cast, a 69.2 per cent turnout. In Paisley and Renfrewshire South, there were 43,217 votes cast, a 67.1 per cent turnout.

Returning Officer Sandra Black, Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council, announced the results in the early hours of Friday, 13 December 2019 at the Lagoon Leisure Centre in Paisley.

The election count involved more than 300 staff, counting the contents of 167 ballot boxes and 46 postal ballot boxes.

59 polling places containing 167 stations across Renfrewshire had been open from 7.00am until 10.00pm on Thursday 12 December and included various venues such as schools, community centres, churches and a bowling club.